The farthest I’ve ever run in my life… at least until I run a little farther


I ran 7 miles on Sunday. Really, I did. “Where’s the proof?”, you ask? Well, you’re just going to have to believe me because I did that thing where I paused RunKeeper at a stoplight and forgot to turn her back on for half a mile. 

Image

See, she thinks I only ran 6.48 miles in 1:01:39, but I know I ran 3.5 miles away from home and then turned around and ran exactly the same path back. I have no idea how long it took me, but I think maybe around 1:06-1:07. That is my pro-tip for making yourself run long distances. Run half the distance in the opposite direction of your house. Now you can either sit down and cry or you can run back. Your choice. 

7 miles! I felt like superwoman! I felt like I could conquer the world! I felt… really, really tired. For the rest of that day, the only thing I really wanted was to nap. Walking through the grocery store, sitting at the sushi restaurant, riding in the car. Man, I just really needed to rest my eyes. Just for a minute, ok?

Don’t get me wrong, I was totally excited and proud of myself, but I was also just sooo sleepy, kind of like this guy…

ht baby seal pup sleeping 1a ll 111214 vblog Baby Seal Enters House and Naps on Couch

I managed to stay awake until a reasonable bedtime, but I’ve never experienced that kind of sleepiness following physical activity. I wonder if other long distance runners feel that too. If so, after a marathon I think I would just need a cot and a blanket waiting for me at the finish line.

So, I finished listening to Mockingjay, the second book in the Hunger Games series. I’ve only listened to that book while I’ve been running, which basically means I have run for over 11.5 hours during the past 4 months! At a 10 minute mile, that’s about 69 miles. You guys, I could have run from Athens to downtown Atlanta by now. 

Image

Maybe next time.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

