December runs


I love downtown Athens in December. The lights are magical. Here are some hastily taken pictures from my Friday night run through downtown…

Classic Center

Classic Center

Image

Georgia Theatre

Georgia Theatre

And last night I did three miles in the coldest weather I think we’ve had so far here in Athens (mid 40’s). It’s exhilarating to run in the cold. I love it. I ran with my hair down, a trick I learned from a good friend who was my original running inspiration, Manissa. She lives in Colorado, so I guess she knows a little bit about running in the cold.

me

But the most exciting news is that this past Sunday, I ran 8 miles! BOOM, y’all! I am racking up the mileage kind of quickly, have you noticed? It’s so exciting and it makes me so happy to beat my own personal records. After a record breaking run, I’m so cheerful I can hardly stand myself. That is, until I fall asleep in my own dinner.

Here’s the thing though. I’m a little concerned that I might be increasing mileage too quickly. I really don’t want to get hurt and then have to stop running for an extended period of time, and since I admittedly don’t really know what I’m doing, I’ve been doing some scholarly research online (i.e., browsing Pinterest and Googling). I read about the 10% rule, which states that, to prevent injury, you should not increase your mileage by more than 10% from one week to the next. But this article from the NY Times and the research the article is based on indicate that perhaps that rule doesn’t actually mean much as far as preventing injury.

Since I’m not actually training for any particular race in the near future, I have no reason to continuously try to beat the record I was so proud of the week before. Also, I’m pretty sure those long runs would be the ones where my chances for injury increase dramatically as I near the end. But this past Sunday, I just could not help myself. I set out to run 7 miles, the same as the weekend before. But when those 7 miles were done, and the thought of breaking my record by just running one more mile entered into my head, there was no stopping me. Moral of this story? I’ve got to learn some self control.

selfcontrol-lvl-9000

I think that I could stand to increase my weekly mileage as a whole, and not just the mileage on my long runs. I’ve been doing 2 to 3 miles 3 to 4 nights a week, which I could theoretically increase to 3 to 5 miles each run. This is probably a safer way to build up endurance when compared to just simply kicking my ass for one long run on Sunday afternoons.

P.S. Let’s be real. You can fully expect a post from me on Sunday about my 9 mile run attempt. Let’s hope it is injury free.

2 comments

  1. Courtney V.

    Definitely be careful! I used to run and then one day *POP* I tore my meniscus cartilage in my right knee. That is how I started taking group fitness classes and teaching. But, I still have issues with it. So take it easy! 🙂

    • amhow

      Point taken, Courtney. Thanks for reminding me what can happen. My logical side knows that I’ve got to be reasonable, but my competitive side just wants to go! go! go!

Leave a Reply

