I can’t run I have to STUDY


So I’ve kind of fallen behind in my running. That basically means that I missed a total of one running day this week, and I’m thinking about missing a second one today. If you’re keeping count, which I know you totally are, that means I ran ONE day this week, and it was in a race. ML5K, y’all! 26:07!! 2nd in my age group, y’all! I even got an award!!

Image

As awesome as that race was, it wasn’t enough mileage for that particular day since I’m trying to work up to 7 miles, three times a week at a minimum. So yeah, I’ve racked up a whopping 3.1 miles this week and I’m thinking about sitting on my ass for the rest of the day and not doing any exercise.

Image

The 5K started and ended at the Athens landmark, Weaver D’s. “Automatic for the people”. So clearly, after the race was over, I had to have fried chicken.

It’s kind of ironic because the reason for my unprecedented lack of willpower for running is actually willpower for another activity, studying. It’s sacrilege, I know, but I have a BFD exam coming up on February 4th that I really have to get ready for. My comprehensive oral exam. Yikes. For those of you who aren’t in grad school are sane, that is an exam where a committee of professors checks to see if I know the things I ought to know about the topic I ought to know a lot about. The way they check this is by asking me questions ad nauseum until I cave and run out of the room crying. I think that’s how it’s supposed to go, anyway.

Image

My back up plan

I was told that there is no way I can prepare for this exam and that I should just trust that my training so far will prepare me for what will likely be a casual conversation. So obviously I am reading everything I can possibly read and memorizing mundane facts that will likely do nothing to help me on the day of my exam. Oh and I’m freaking out. That takes up a lot of my time. What that means is that running has taken a back seat for just another week. Then I’ll be back with a vengeance. Promise.

One comment

Leave a Reply

