On a break


Yesterday, I laced up my running shoes again for the first time in two weeks and it was heavy heavy heavy. It took me back to those days when I first started running that I thought two miles was so exceptional. Two miles was something to write home about. No, seriously. I called my mom ecstatic the first time I ran two miles. That was 5 months ago. 

Yesterday my breath was labored, my feet were heavy, my mind was weak. I got home to find tiny little blisters on the tips of my toes. The rest of the day I was kind of a lump. I was proud to have done my 4 miles, but it took me an exceptionally long time to do it, and I was ever so glad when it was over. 

Isn’t it amazing how our bodies revert to old habits so quickly? While I wasn’t running these past two weeks, I was itching to run. Every day I felt guilty but somehow also responsible. You see, I wasn’t running for a good reason. I had to pass my oral exams and that meant lots of studying, not taking the time out to run for an hour and half or more each day. I don’t  know how effective the strategy was, in fact because I always feel more productive when I’m exercising regularly. But I passed! So there’s that.

Image

Once I started running again, I couldn’t wait to stop. But I’ll be back at it tomorrow, and I’m looking forward to it, in theory. The weather should be nice. I’m listening to “Gone Girl” which, omgaaah. So good! Plus, tomorrow has to be better than yesterday, right? I think so.

Image

4 comments

  1. Li Li

    That gif made me laugh out loud– I remember that episode– HAHAHAHAHAHA!

    And yes! When I’m not running regularly, I am all, “RUNNING, WHY AM I NOT RUNNING?” And then, when I finally get back to it, after a few minutes of running, I like, “AIR? WHERE IS THE AIR?!” 😉

    Congrats on your exams! That’s exciting!

    • amhow

      Hi Li Li! Thanks for the comment! Ahhh, yes, Friends. Those were the good old days, right? Love that show. Thank you for the congratulations! I’m one step closer to being finished with the degree, and I’m stoked about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

